Catholic Guilt Acknowledge Grief and Mourn on Touching Track “Nothing…”

Grief and loss are, unfortunately, something everyone has to deal with at some point or another, but life can go on and you can grow from that hardship. Melbourne rockers Catholic Guilt reflect on losing a loved one with “Nothing…,” the final single from their August 2020 EP This is What Honesty Sounds Like.

“‘Nothing…’ was initially inspired by the death of my Pop, but as the writing process unfolded, I realised that it contained elements of all of the grieving that I’ve had to do throughout my life, not just this specific passing,” vocalist Brenton Harris explains. “It is painful growth, but each time you go through it you come to appreciate that there can be great power and beauty in our mortality.”

The track’s thoughtful music video opens with Harris performing the song alone, before his bandmates join him. It’s a touching representation of how memories linger and the importance of a support system in times of grief, making it feel melancholic without weighing too heavily on the viewer. The band filmed the clip in the Priory mansion in their home of Melbourne, Australia.

“The intention of the video was to bring that feeling of being ‘haunted’ by grief, to life in a visual way,” Harris elaborates. “By playing with lighting, setting, perspective and perception, Director Victor NG, DP David Chan and the rest of the crew deliver upon that vision perfectly. They’ve essentially made us the stars of our own little ghost story. We couldn’t be happier with how it turned out, it perfectly presents the song’s narrative and our broader creative vision. A huge shoutout to my band mates acting skills and a thank you to everyone for helping me through my ‘acting’ performance too!”

You can find “Nothing…” and the rest of Catholic Guilt’s This is What Honesty Sounds Like on your favorite streaming services now, and connect with the band on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and their official website!

Photo via Earshot Media.

Catholic Guilt is vocalist Brenton Harris, guitarist and vocalist Bryce Novotny, guitarist and vocalist Dean Gordon, bassist Ben Caruana, and drummer James Noble.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: